NDC MPs to boycott Akufo-Addo swearing-in

Members of the NDC in Parliament have boycotted the investiture of President Akufo-Addo for his second term in office.

It is unclear the exact basis for the boycott but the party’s Presidential candidate John Mahama is challenging the victory of Mr Akufo-Addo in court claiming electoral fraud.

Mr. Akufo-Addo’s investiture comes hours after long-winding violence laced election of the Speaker of the 8th Parliament which was on by the NDC’s nominee Alban Bagbin.

Mr Bagbin polled 138 votes as against 136 for former Speaker Professor Mike Oquaye. The election of Mr. Bagbin sent shockwaves across the aisle where NPP members of Parliament were sitting.

After a long night of drama and confusion amid a laborious process leading to soldiers invading the lawmaking House, NPP MPs were visibly shocked and dejected at the outcome of the polling process.

READ MORE  Blame Ghanaians for MP's attacks - Ras Mubarak

Read More News HERE.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *